The Oz Series

By L. Frank Baum…
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
    (1900) The very first Oz story, detailing Dorothy’s first adventure in Oz.
  • The Magical Monarch of Mo
    (1900/1903) Thirteen tales of the Land of Mo (across the Deadly Desert from Oz) and how the people eventually got rid of the wicked Purple Dragon.
  • Dot & Tot of Merryland
    (1901) The story of how Dot Freeland and her friend Tot visited Merryland, which is across the Deadly Desert from the Land of Oz.
  • The Life & Adventures of Santa Claus
    (1902) The life story of Santa Claus and how he came to be the immortal giver of gifts to children. Occurs in the very early history of the continent on which Oz is found.
  • The Marvelous Land of Oz
    (1904) The story of how Ozma of Oz was recovered and restored to the throne of the Emerald City.
  • Queer Visitors From The Marvelous Land of Oz
    (1904-05) Many stories of the Scarecrow and his friends during a visit to the United States of America.
  • The Woggle-Bug Book
    (1905) The Woggle-Bug has many misadventures in the United States.
  • Queen Zixi of Ix
    (1905) The story of how Bud became King of Noland (a country across the Deadly Desert) and joined with Queen Zixi of Ix to defeat the Roly Rogues.
  • John Dough & the Cherub
    (1906) The story of how a giant gingerbread man named John Dough met Chick the Cherub and Para Bruin and how they became rulers of Hiland and Loland.
  • A Kidnapped Santa Claus
    (1906) The story of how Santa Claus was kidnapped by the Daemons of the Caves.
  • Ozma of Oz
    (1907) How Dorothy returned to Oz and Ozma freed the Royal Family of Ev from the Nome King.
  • Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz
    (1908) How Dorothy and the Wizard met again and eventually returned to Oz.
  • The Road to Oz
    (1909) Dorothy follows a magic road that takes her from Kansas to the World of Oz.
  • A Short, Short, Oz Story
    (1909) A short story Baum wrote for his son in a copy of The Road to Oz.
  • The Emerald City of Oz
    (1910) Dorothy, Aunt Em, and Uncle Henry decide to move to Oz as the Nome King plans revenge on Ozma.
  • The Sea Fairies
    (1911) Trot and Cap’n Bill are introduced and are made the guests of the mermaids.
  • Sky Island
    (1912) Trot and Cap’n Bill join Button-Bright on a journey to an island in the sky.
  • Little Wizard Stories of Oz
    (1913) Six short stories about our old friends in Oz.
  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz
    (1913) Ojo and Scraps, a girl made from an old patchwork quilt, seek the ingredients for an anitidote for the Liquid of Petrification.
  • Tik-tok of Oz
    (1914) Queen Ann Soforth of Oogaboo decides to conquer the world, starting with the Nome Kingdom!
  • The Scarecrow of Oz
    (1915) Trot and Cap’n Bill come to Oz to set the country of Jinxland to right.
  • Rinkitink in Oz
    (1916) Prince Inga of Pingaree and King Rinkitink of Gilgad set out to conquer the wicked rulers of Regos and Coregos.
  • The Lost Princess of Oz
    (1917) When Princess Ozma and most of the magic treasures of Oz dissappear, Dorothy and her friends go to look for them.
  • The Tin Woodman of Oz
    (1918) The Tin Woodman, joined by Woot the Wanderer and the Scarecrow, search for Nimee Aimee, the Tin Woodman’s long-lost love.
  • The Magic of Oz
    (1919) A young Munchkin boy learns a magic word that lets him make transformations.
  • Glinda of Oz
    (1920) Dorothy and Ozma set out to make peace between the Flatheads and the Skeezers.
By Ruth Plumly Thompson…
  • The Royal Book of Oz
    (1921) The Scarecrow finds his family tree, and a lot more than he expected!
  • Kabumpo in Oz
    (1922) Prince Pompadore and Kabumpo go to see Ozma to help them save Pumperdink, but Ruggedo has grown to giant size and has Ozma’s palace on his head!
  • The Cowardly Lion of Oz
    (1923) A little orphan boy and a clown wind up in Oz and are forced to capture the Cowardly Lion for Mustafa of Mudge.
  • Grampa in Oz
    (1924) Prince Tatters is off on a quest to find his father’s head, marry a princess, and find his fortune!
  • The Lost King of Oz
    (1925) We discover the true fate of Pastoria, Ozma’s father and the King of Oz before the Wizard’s arrival.
  • The Hungry Tiger of Oz
    (1926) The Hungry Tiger is called to Rash to devour the prisoners, but his conscience won’t let him!
  • The Gnome King of Oz
    (1927) Peter of Philedelphia is made a pawn by Ruggedo.
  • The Giant Horse of Oz
    (1928) A creation of Mombi’s creates trouble at last.
  • Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz
    (1929) Oz is in trouble, and only Jack Pumpkinhead can save the day!
  • The Yellow Knight of Oz
    (1930) Sir Hokus of Pokes sets out for adventure!
  • Pirates in Oz
    (1931) Captain Salt, Peter and Pigasus must save Oz from the Gnome King again!
  • The Purple Prince of Oz
    (1932) Prince Randy of Regalia proves his right to Royalty!
  • Ojo in Oz
    (1933) Ojo is kidnapped by gypsies!
  • Speedy in Oz
    (1934) Speedy and Terrybubble have to save Umbrella Island!
  • The Wishing Horse of Oz
    (1935) Ozma’s gone and only Dorothy and Pigasus remember her!
  • Captain Salt in Oz
    (1936) Samuel Salt and his crew find new lands for Ozma as they sail to Ozamaland!
  • Handy Mandy in Oz
    (1937) The many-mitted Mountain Maid of Mern sails to Oz and must save it from the Wizard Wutz!
  • The Silver Princess in Oz
    (1938) Randy and Kabumpo meet up with Princess Plannetty from Anuther Planet!
  • Ozoplaning with the Wizard of Oz
    (1939) The Wizard of Oz tries out his new Ozoplanes!
  • Yankee in Oz
    (1972) A space dog lands in Oz!
  • The Enchanted Island of Oz
    (1976) A boy and a camel discover a flying island over Oz!
  • The Cheerful Citizens of Oz (Poetry)
    (1992) A collection of Oz poems by Thompson!
By John R. Neill…
  • The Wonder City of Oz
    (1940) Jenny Jump arrives in Oz and takes everyone for a whirl!
  • The Scalawagons of Oz
    (1941) The Bell-Snickle makes the Wizard’s new Scalwagons run for a whirl!
  • Lucky Bucky in Oz
    (1942) Bucky Jones rides a wooden whale to Oz!
  • A Runaway in Oz
    (1995) Scraps runs away from Oz!
By Jack Snow…
  • The Magical Mimics in Oz
    (1946) Oz is invaded while Ozma’s away!
  • The Shaggy Man of Oz
    (1949) Conjo the Magician heads to Oz, and only the Shaggy Man and his new friends can stop him!
  • A Murder in Oz
    (1955) Ozma’s been murdered!
By Rachel R. Cosgrove…
  • The Hidden Valley of Oz
    (1951) Jam flies to Oz by kite!
  • The Wicked Witch of Oz
    (1993) Singra, the Wicked Witch of the South, awakes at last!
  • Percy and the Shrinking Violets
    (1995) A gift to Ozma makes Percy start shrinking!
  • Spots in Oz
    (1997) After a botched spot remover is made, spots start disappearing in the neighborhood!
By Eloise Jarvis McGraw…
  • Merry Go Round in Oz (with Lauren McGraw Wagner)
    (1963) Robin Brown flies to Oz on merry go round horse!
  • The Forbidden Fountain of Oz (with Lauren Lynn McGraw)
    (1980) Ozma loses her memory and goes missing!
  • The Rundelstone of Oz
    (2000) Poco the puppet can’t find his friends!